Soon, some WhatsApp users will see a banner inviting them to review the privacy policies. Instead of a full-screen warning, consumers were made aware of the changes in a discreet way. Many users started seeking for alternatives for WhatsApp and switched to Telergram and Signal as an alternative for WhatsApp. WhatsApp then wrote in a blog post to users switching to other platforms such as Telegram and Signal:
Following public backlash over updated privacy terms, WhatsApp opted to postpone its scheduled privacy upgrade for three months. WhatsApp announced that the privacy upgrade deadline has been moved back from February 8 to May 15. As a result, people have more time to comprehend and evaluate their policy.
WhatsApp just published, how they are going to treat the accounts of users who refuse to accept the company’s current terms and policies. If a user does not approve the company’s new terms, the app will simply continue to display an alert telling them to do so. Within a few weeks, the users will see a persistent alert. When users see a persistent alert, the WhatsApp app will enter a restricted mode. Users would be unable to control their chat list when in this mode. If they get a message, they will be able to open it and respond to it through their notifications. Incoming audio and video calls will also be accessible. After few weeks, the user can no longer get any calls or updates.
WhatsApp does not have a precise timeline for any of these cases, instead including a nebulous timeline for each condition that seems to differ depending on users. Also, it’s unclear what the previously stated May 15th deadline means any more, other than users may be able to accept the agreement and continue using their app after this date. WhatsApp has confirmed that it would not delete accounts. However, if you do not approve the terms, the software will be worthless after a few weeks.